The Cathédrale Notre-Dame dates back to the early 17th century when Jesuits erected it as a college church. Many years later, in the second half of the 19th century, the church was granted the status of a cathedral by a decree of Pope Pius IX. The last upgrades of this magnificent building were made in 1938 when it was enlarged and extended. Since 1938 it has been adorned with stained glass windows along with the existing beautiful ornaments of alabaster, ornaments on pillars, and woodcuts. The historical rulers of Luxembourg rest in the crypt of this cathedral. Tourists describe a visit as a breathtaking experience.